RSS

Where Everybody Knows Your Name

25 Apr

Something occurred to me today as I was sitting at my desk at work and having conversations about blueprints mating and making baby blueprints, and all of us having personal assistant Oompa Loompas….

My job is my Cheers.

Image

Not that we all sit around and drink all day long, although we do, admittedly, discuss it at times. Nope, it’s not like that. It’s a feeling. A feeling of belonging to a weird, funny, dysfunctional family. A feeling of kinship. Of knowing that I can say and do the dumbest shit of all time and these people will love me for it. My job is not glamorous. It’s certainly not making me rich. But I’m good at it. And I laugh more every day at the silly, random conversations we have than should really be allowed at a workplace. These people are my Sam, my Cliff, my Coach, my Diane… Although, I guess I’d be the Diane since I’m one of the few chicks there. I’m far more Carla-like, though, except with a larger ass. But you get what I mean. To some, my job could probably be seen as pointless, and as nothing special. But to me, it’s one of the most stressful, fun, and special places at which I’ve ever had the honor of spending 5 days a week.

Plus, my boss buys me vodka and stuff.

Greatest. Job. Ever.

It’d only be better with a personal assistant Oompa Loompa. I’d name mine Norm. Normpa Loompa.

Ha! See what I did there?

Never mind.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2014 in Humor

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Where Everybody Knows Your Name

  1. Sean Smithson

    April 26, 2014 at 8:32 am

    Oh man, I loved this post Paula. But at the same time, it kind of makes me sad is THIS is exactly what I had before I decided to change things up, quit and go travelling.

    Hopefully I can find this again one day…

    Like

     
    • paulasg75

      April 26, 2014 at 11:49 am

      Sometimes we don’t know how good we have it until we walk away. I’ve learned that many times. You just live and learn. For now, I’m a pretty happy lady. 🙂 You can come work with me if you want. It’d be a hell of a commute, though.

      Like

       
  2. Phil Taylor

    April 26, 2014 at 9:54 am

    Thank you for referencing one of my favorite shows ever. I know what you mean. For years I worked in an office and loved the camaraderie I had with co-workers that became great friends. Now I have a relatively solo job and I miss the fun of filling down time at work with idiocy and friends.

    Like

     
    • paulasg75

      April 26, 2014 at 11:50 am

      I’ve been there. I’ve worked alone in the past. It’s not nearly as much fun when there’s nobody around to laugh when you fall out of your chair and stuff. Not that that’s ever happened to me. Nope. Ummmm… I gotta go.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
