RSS

Small Everyday Miracles. Or Something Like That.

29 Mar

Last Saturday night began a trend of me doing some really dumb stuff. I mean, more dumb than usual. And for me, that’s pretty damn dumb. It all started with 4pm Saturday afternoon Cosmos. I don’t normally like to drink that early on a Saturday (It’s a rule I have. No drinking before 5pm, and no eating after midnight. I watched Gremlins too many times growing up.), but the Cosmos were $3, and it’d just be un-American to pass up a deal like that, right? Right?? Validate my poor choices, damn it! Anyway… As I was saying, it all started there.

Very stupid thing I did #1: I left my phone on the bar in a college town dive bar. A bar which didn’t open again until 7pm the following evening. All day Sunday I was panicked, wondering if I did actually leave it, or if I dropped it in a gutter, or if some college punk took off with it and was touching himself to my sexy-librarian-glasses selfie.

Very stupid thing I did #2: Left my iPod on the seat of a rowing machine at the local YMCA. How the hell does that even happen? Must’ve been all those squats. Good for my butt, bad for my senility.

In the grand scheme of things, neither of these is a big deal. A phone, an iPod. Whatever. They can be replaced. But… You know what? I went back to that bar Sunday, and there was my phone, safely behind the bar. Not even a drop of vomit or any sticky substances on it. And my iPod? At the front desk of the YMCA, where some kind person had turned it in. Maybe they just weren’t into The Pussycat Dolls and 80’s music, but still. This is the kind of stuff that makes me smile.

Hey- It’s the little things, people.

Teeny tiny miracles. Love that shit.

Faith in humanity: Officially restored.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2014 in Humor, Life, Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Small Everyday Miracles. Or Something Like That.

  1. Farmer Farthing

    March 29, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    Lucky, lucky, lucky!!! Is all I’ve got to say šŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • paulasg75

      March 29, 2014 at 6:08 pm

      I know! I should buy a lottery ticket or somethin’!

      Like

       
  2. Kathleen

    March 29, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    I clearly need to get out more. — When you said Cosmos, I didnt even recognize it as a drink (plural). I thought you were watching (on Saturday afternoon) the new Cosmos show hosted by Neil Degrasse Tyson. — When I DO get out more, maybe I should go with MARGARITAS (my two friends name Margarita) –hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • paulasg75

      March 30, 2014 at 12:40 pm

      I could’ve gone with ‘Cosmopolitans’, but that’s way too long.

      Like

       
      • Kathleen

        March 30, 2014 at 4:21 pm

        No, it’s not you, it’s me. Got to get out more. — Guess I’m gonna have to put on a bra šŸ˜€

        Like

         
  3. Phil Taylor

    March 30, 2014 at 11:15 am

    I think the ease with which you recovered your belongings reinforces your 4 pm Cosmos decision. Slippery slope meet Paula. Paula meet slippery slope. : )

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • paulasg75

      March 30, 2014 at 12:41 pm

      Right? Maybe next weekend I should start at 3pm!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
