RSS

So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen 2013

31 Dec

Image

As I sit here waiting for my family to arrive for this evening’s festivities, drinking a lovely concoction called Ginger Balls (ha ha… balls), I can’t help but reflect on the year that’s passed. Holy hell, it’s gone by fast. Too fast. Time really needs to slow the fuck down, because I’m not anywhere near ready to stop being young. Anyway, 2013 was weird. It’s simultaneously been the best and worst year of my life. I’ve learned a lot about myself this past year. I’m so completely opposite of the shy, insecure girl I was in the past, and I’ve done things this year that girl would never have even fathomed doing. I ran 10 miles, for God’s sake. I got on a theatre stage in front of an actual audience, and only went deer-in-the-headlights once. I took a 12 hour road trip alone. I got cast in a commercial, and was even on screen for approximately 12 seconds. Not that I counted. Ok, maybe I did. Whatever. I’m a star, I don’t care what anyone says. On the other hand, 2013 brought a lot of moments of loneliness, and “Oh my God, am I going to be alone forever??” panic attacks. My brother was diagnosed with a horrid disease, which I still wish desperately I could take away from him. But all in all, the years keep getting better and better. Sure, I have moments of panic about growing older. I think everyone does. But, when it comes down to it, there’s nothing we can do to stop the train. All we can do is enjoy the hell out of the ride, trust the engineer to not let us derail, and spend more time in the drink car than we probably should.

Happy New Year, folks. Do shots. Take your pants off. Let’s get crazy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2013 in Humor, Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
